Final Countdown – who will be champion – we find out at Snetterton this weekend


The MG Cup is a championship for all types of MG’s and consists of 12 rounds across the UK premier circuits.
The championship awards are based on the best 10 results from the 12 rounds in the year.
The championship is split into 3 classes, providing class champions, and also and overall champion for the series.
Based on results for the previous 10 rounds, the top 5 drivers in each class are below.
With a maximum of 34 points available from the last 2 rounds, the class positions and overall championship are still up for grabs.

Image 26-09-2017 at 21.23

Class C.
Class C is looking good for Alan Brooke in the Metro, but Dave Nixon, Peter Burchill or Matt Simpson could take the Class if Alan fails to finish any of the races. Matt Simpson will be fired up after his win at Oulton Park and will be looking to improve on his current 4th place.
Class B
Richard Buckley is in a strong position to take the class B title, but with Ed Davis not racing this weekend, James Darby, Ian Dowler or Ian Boulton could steal the class championship if Richard fails to pit in a good result. James Darby and Ian Dowler are only separated by a point after dropped scores so the positions on the track are likely to dictate where they finish in the championship. Ian Boulton will be looking to put in a good performance after his mechanical problems at Oulton Park and will move up to at least third in class but there is also a good chance to move up to 2nd if both James Darby and Ian Dowler have problems.
Class A
Finally Class A, which often provides some of the closest battles although the cars are not as fast as the other classes.
Josh Wright current leads Darren Harris by 2 points, with neither driver having to drop points, the class championship will be decided on the track. Third in the class is still undecided and will be between Steve Tyler and Nick Arden, with just one point separating them.

Overall Championship
The overall champion could still come from any of the classes, and there are 9 drivers mathematically who could win the championship, but the wise money would bet on current leaders from each class either Josh Wright, Richard Buckley or Alan Brooke, with a slight advantage going to Alan and then Richard.